Support articles
Find clear, step-by-step solutions to common WithSecure issues across installation, configuration, updates, and product performance.
What does the Elements Endpoint Protection Rollback feature do?
Last updated
Issue:
What does the Rollback feature do that has been added to Elements Endpoint Protection?
Resolution:
Rollback offers user a protection against of ransomware and allows to restore files and registry to a previous state before the ransomware infection.
The product keeps tracking activity of suspicious process and record changes made by this process (including file/registry modifications) at that location, and backup these to the backup folder when a suspicious process is detected with the rollback feature enabled.
Once the suspicious process is identified to be malicious, the rollback will happen immediately to restore the change(s) in the files/registries. After the session ends, the feature does not keep the backup and will drop it.
Rollback can be set up from the Elements profile for EPP for Computers devices:
- Log in to the Elements Security Center portal
- Navigate to the Security configurations > Profiles page
- Click on the profile that is in use on your devices
- Go to the Rollback settings page
- Enable rollback
- Allow to restore reverted files
- Click Save profile