Support articles

Find clear, step-by-step solutions to common WithSecure issues across installation, configuration, updates, and product performance.

What does the Elements Endpoint Protection Rollback feature do?

Issue:

What does the Rollback feature do that has been added to Elements Endpoint Protection?

Resolution:

Rollback offers user a protection against of ransomware and allows to restore files and registry to a previous state before the ransomware infection.

The product keeps tracking activity of suspicious process and record changes made by this process (including file/registry modifications) at that location, and backup these to the backup folder when a suspicious process is detected with the rollback feature enabled.

Once the suspicious process is identified to be malicious, the rollback will happen immediately to restore the change(s) in the files/registries. After the session ends, the feature does not keep the backup and will drop it.

Rollback can be set up from the Elements profile for EPP for Computers devices:

  1. Log in to the Elements Security Center portal
  2. Navigate to the Security configurations > Profiles page
  3. Click on the profile that is in use on your devices
  4. Go to the Rollback settings page
  5. Enable rollback
  6. Allow to restore reverted files
  7. Click Save profile