Support articles

Find clear, step-by-step solutions to common WithSecure issues across installation, configuration, updates, and product performance.

How long do Client Security or Server Security keep the quarantined files until they are automatically deleted?

Issue:

How long do Client Security or Server Security keep the quarantined files stored on a computer or server until they are automatically deleted? After what time can the files no longer be released from quarantine? 

 

Resolution:

By default both Business Suite Client Security and Server Security delete quarantined files after 30 days.

You can change the default settings for quarantine management via the Policy Manager Console:

  1. Log in to the Policy Manager Console
  2. Select a host or policy domain from the domain tree
  3. Open the Settings tab 
  4. Navigate to the Windows > Quarantine Management settings page
  5. Make sure that Remove Old items automatically is enabled 
  6. Change the amount of time for:
    1. Remove items Older than
  7. Distribute the policy (Ctrl + D)