Support articles

Find clear, step-by-step solutions to common WithSecure issues across installation, configuration, updates, and product performance.

Is it possible to revert a profile change made by the profile assignment rules feature?

Issue:

We made a change to the Elements portal's Profile assignment rules and applied it to all existing devices accidentally.

Is it possible to revert a profile change made by the profile assignment rules feature? How can we find out what was the original profile that was in use on the devices? 

Resolution:

Unfortunately it is not possible to revert the changes made by Profile assignment rules if you have accidentally applied a profile changes to devices for which you didn't intend to. You would need to manually assign the correct profile to all the devices. 

You can check which profile a device has had before the change by checking the device's history:

  1. Log in to the Elements Security Center portal 
  2. Navigate to the Environment > Devices page
  3. Click on a device
  4. Click Show history 
  5. Go to the Assigned profile page
  6. Check the date of change and the value columns

Note: Device history shows changes from last 30 days (data collection started on 1 June 2023).